Driving directions.

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 28 July, 2014 - 19:04

Driving directions.

Hey guys. I'm a new driver, and with only a few months of driving experience in my life, I tend to be extremely reliant on GPS. This is a problem, especially when driving alone (I only recently figured that one out!).

I want to try to establish a sense of direction as to where I am. I have the basic directions of my town memorized (mostly only because I would go running and then remember the routes through running), but when I try to memorize a new route before driving I get confused.

For all those experienced drivers and experienced mnemonic(ists), what's important to remember when it comes to driving. I'm sure I could memorize rights and lefts through binary encoding, but should I be aiming for the memorization of street names or what? How do you memorize location via the method of loci?

28 July, 2014 - 20:55

I'm unusually bad with understanding the layout of a region until I look at a map and copy it by hand into my own simple map. Then I suddenly understand. Drawing a simple map of major roads and features might be worth experimenting with.

I've used a method that Dominic O'Brien talks about in Quantum Memory Power:

I put one step in each location of a memory palace. If I have to turn, I either picture something off to the right or left, or look in that direction. Numbers get turned into images with a number system.

Example directions:

1. Drive on I-80
  2. Take the Gilman Street exit
  3. Turn left at the bottom of the exit ramp
  4. Turn right on San Pablo
  5. Take a left at University Ave.

Each one of those is one step in a memory palace.
The number 80 for me is a car.
"Gilman" could be a made-up superhero named Gill-Man who is climbing a highway exit sign.
For step #3, picture sliding down a ramp on a skateboard (for example) and turning to the left.