How study for exams?

6 replies [Last post]
fgronzani's picture

Hi,I'm studying for the exam to enter in a medical university,and I know that mnemonic techniques are very powerful, I think we have medical students in this forum,I would like to know how to study effectively and efficiently for the exam,Any tips from anyone will be welcome,Like How review learning or creat Mind Maps,I'll be very very grateful for any comments ( Sorry for my bad English)

Dale's picture
Re: How study for exams?
fgronzani's picture

Thanks =)

Guajiro's picture

My mom used mnemonics to pass nursing school. She used to draw picures. She told me that on one occasion she had to remember various diseases and amongs them were various STDs. (Now, keep in mind, this isnt a joke nor an attempt to be vulgar. Its simply the truth) To remember one of them she drew a picure of a giant vagina shaped monster. The details of this monster's appearence represented the conditions of the disease. so since the STD caused yellow coloring to occur, naturally the monster was yellow, and so on..
She even wrote the name of the monster which was a play of words on the name of the STD.

Everyone in class made fun of her when they saw her drawings. Well after one of the exams all the students said that when the questions came up about that particular STD they ALL remembered her crazy drawing and they ALL got the questions right concerning that STD.

she graduated as one of the top students of her class and she gives credit to mnemonics.

hope this gives you an idea Smile

fgronzani's picture

Thanks =)

hello_world's picture

Hi! The best way to learn... I can tell you my experience about medicine and memorization techniques...
The most important thing on medical college is to understand what are you learning (that makes things a lot easier, but could take more time).