Memorizing Rubik's Cubes (and similar puzzles)

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 8 October, 2012 - 06:08

Memorizing Rubik's Cubes (and similar puzzles)

9 October, 2012 - 05:27

It made a lot of sense to me, only because I've been blindsolving since 2011. To someone new to this; there is an awful lot of interesting, but unrelated filler. You need to clarify a lot of the terminology used in your post and explain commutators/algorithms, what they are and how they are actually used during a solve.

12 October, 2012 - 07:12

MOOP! I know who you are! (on ss) (I think... Kristopher de Asis?)
I'll clarify some later, but perhaps you could do some too. I won't have much time tonight, with homework, and I've got a cube comp in the morning, but I'll try to do some clarification.

12 October, 2012 - 21:24

Thanks for the explanation. How do you keep track of things once you star solving it? Do you just move a few pieces and then rememorize based on where you think you moved things?

That is an amazing video:

25 October, 2012 - 06:52

Well, that's where it gets a bit complicated. Basically, you solve 1 or 2 pieces at a time without disturbing any other pieces. So I would solve the first 1 or 2 pieces I memorized, and I would know exactly where the next 1 or 2 pieces would be, cause they hadn't moved at all. I would continue this until I had solved all of the pieces. If that doesn't make sense, check out this video. It's a bit long, but it explains everything and you probably won't need to watch it all.

21 January, 2013 - 20:35

I'm quite new to Rubik's cubes generally... I solved a 4x4x4 cube myself ONCE - only by painstaking analysis of my trial and error moves. It was a terrible ordeal over many days ;)